What is the policy proposal you believe would have the most positive impact on society if it was implemented tomorrow?

Chris DeMuth Jr
2 min readJul 11, 2023

--

Alex Kaschuta

Alex’s:

These should be punchy enough to be effective but realistic enough to actually be of-this-world (no government-issue girlfriend pitches, please.)

My pitch:

Three strikes law for violent felonies and organized crime — as in, these people will never see the light of day one way or another after strike 3. I think this would combine the virtues of redemption for someone who had a misstep or two with the extreme societal benefit of wiping out a great deal of recidivism-fueled crime, the most pernicious category of crime.

Mine:

An itemized per capita bill for all federal spending delivered on election day at voting locations due before voting. The amount of progressivity can be debated and implemented elsewhere (eg. a negative income tax or a universal basic income). Taxes should be assessed to collect revenue with minimal expense, complexity, evasion, and obfuscation. I want to see how many guns I bought for the Taliban, how many PPP loans I gave fraudsters, and how much food (that makes up a substantial component of poor people’s budgets) I subsidized for the benefit of wealthy producers. The topic of “stuff I want other people to pay for later” is limitless and infantile. It should be replaced by the adult topic of “stuff I want to pay my share of”. Voters should step into the voting booth with the costs as well as benefits of government at our fingertips.

Yours?

--

--